### **DELHI LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY**

## Bulletin Part-I

(Brief summary of proceedings)

Friday 19<sup>th</sup> December, 2008/Agrahayan 28, 1930(Saka)

## No. 02

2.05 PM Dr. Jagdish Mukhi, Hon'ble Speaker Pro-tem in-chair.

# 1. 2.06 **OATH:**

PM

Following Members who do not take oath/ affirmation on 18<sup>th</sup> December, 2008, took oath & signed the Roll of the Members and took their seats in the House:-

- 1. Shri Shoaib Igbal Oath-Urdu
- 2. Dr.S.C.L. Gupta Hindi

Oath-

#### 2. 2.11 **ELECTION OF SPEAKER:**

PM

1. Smt. Sheila Dikshit moved the following motion:-

"that Dr. Yoganand Shastri, a member of this House be chosen as Speaker of the House.

Shri Rama Kant Goswami seconded the motion.

2. **Dr.A.K.Walia** moved the following motion:

"that Dr. Yoganand Shastri, a member of this House be chosen as Speaker of the House.

Shri Haroon Yusuf seconded the motion.

3. **Shri Arvinder Singh Lovely** moved the following motion:

"that Dr. Yoganand Shastri, a member of this House be chosen as Speaker of the House.

Shri Naseeb Singh seconded the motion.

4. **Shri Mangat Ram Singhal** moved the following motion:

"that Dr. Yoganand Shastri, a member of this House be chosen as Speaker of the House.

Shri Amrish Singh Gautam seconded the motion.

5. **Prof.(Smt.) Kiran Walia,** moved the following motion:

"that Dr. Yoganand Shastri, a member of this House be chosen as Speaker of the House.

Shri Veer Singh Dhingan seconded the motion.

The Motion moved by Smt Sheila Dikshit was put to vote and adopted unanimously. The Speaker *pro-tem* announced that Dr. Yoganand Shastri has been elected as the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.

The following members congratulated the Speaker:

- 1. Smt. Sheila Dikshit, Chief Minister
- 2. Prof. V.K.Malhotra, Leader of Opposition
- 3. Shri Ramakant Goswami
- 4. Shri Kulwant Rana

#### 5. Shri Anil Bhardwaj

- 6. Shri Sahab Singh Chauhan
- 7. Shri Naresh Gaur
- 8. Shri Mohan Singh Bisht
- 9. Shri Naseeb Singh
- 10. Shri Jai Kishan
- 11. Shri Sunil Kumar
- 12. Shri Shoaib Iqbal
- 13. Prof.(Smt.) Kiran Walia
- 14. Shri Tarvinder Singh Marwah
- 15. Shri Veer Singh Dhingan

The Hon'ble Speaker thanked all the Members for electing him as Speaker and assured to conduct the proceedings judiciously and impartially.

Hon'ble Speaker announced that the Election of Deputy Speaker will be held on  $23^{\rm rd}$  December, 2008, notices for which can be given up to 12.00 noon on  $22^{\rm nd}$  December, 2008 in the Notice Office of the Assembly Secretariat.

 $\frac{2.52}{PM}$  House adjourned till 11 AM on Monday, the 22<sup>nd</sup> December, 2008.

Delhi 19<sup>th</sup> December, 2008 Siddharath Rao Secretary