## DELHI LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY **Bulletin Part-I**

## (Brief summary of proceedings)

Tuesday, 19th March 2013/ Phalgun 30, 1934 (Saka)

#### No. 93

#### 2.05 PM Dr. Yoganand Shastri, Hon'ble Speaker in Chair

1. 2.06 PM As the House assembled; Shri Mukesh Sharma, Hon'ble Member stated that an incident of firing has taken place in the office of MLA Shri Anil Bhardwaj at Pitampura.

> Members of Ruling Party and Opposition stood up on their seats and strongly condemned the aforesaid incident and demanded that the Commissioner of Police be called in the House immediately.

> Smt. Sheila Dikshit, Chief Minister stated that the aforesaid issue is of serious concern for all of us. She agreed with the view of the Members that the Police Commissioner should be called in the House so that this issue may be discussed at length in his presence. She requested the Chair to adjourn the House till the Commissioner of Police arrives.

> Prof. Vijay Kumar Malhotra, Leader of Opposition stated that the said incident is highly condemnable as the public representatives are not secure in Delhi. He reminded that the Chief Minister had promised to provide adequate security to the MLAs by the Delhi Government itself.

> Hon'ble Members Shri Shoaib Iqbal, Shri Tarvinder Singh Marwah, Shri Kulwant Rana, Shri Naresh Gaur also expressed their concern on the aforesaid issue.

> Hon'ble Speaker stated that in view of the sentiments of the Leader of the House, Leader of Opposition and other Members, the House will stand adjourned upto 3.15 PM.

- 2. 2.25 PM The Chair adjourned the proceedings of the House upto 3.15 PM.
- House reassembled. 3. 3.25 PM

#### Hon'ble Speaker in Chair.

4. 3.26 PM The Chair stated that the Commissioner of Police has informed that he is busy in a meeting of Parliamentary Consultative Committee and will be arriving in the Assembly by 4.00 PM. Hence, the other business of the House will be taken up so that the Hon'ble Members may get adequate

> time to express their views after 4.00 PM on the issue of their security. Prof. Vijay Kumar Malhotra, Leader of Opposition requested that the Members be allowed to raise their issues under Special Mention (Rule-

280) as per listed business.

Hon'ble Speaker declined the request of Leader of Opposition.

Members of Bhartiya Janta Party objected and demanded that the House be adjourned immediately.

They stood up on their seats and raised slogans against the Government. Pandemonium in the House.

#### Special Mention (Rule 280):

The Chair ruled that the following matters to be raised by the Members under Rule – 280 will be treated as read:

- 1.Shri Sumesh Shokeen
- 2.Ch. Surender Kumar
- 3. Prof. Vijay Kumar Malhotra
- 4.Shri Naseeb Singh
- 5.Shri Jai Bhagwan Aggarwal
- 6.Shri O.P.Babber
- 7.Dr. Jagdish Mukhi
- 8.Shri Mohan Singh Bisht
- 9.Dr. Harshvardhan
- 10.Shri Kulwant Rana

# 5. 3.31 PM Pandemonium in the House contd..... Papers laid on the Table:

- 1. **Shri Ramakant Goswami, Minister of Transport** laid the copies of Annual Report of Delhi Metro for the financial year 2011-12 (English & Hindi Version).
- 2. **Prof. Smt. Kiran Walia, Minister of Education** laid the copies of Annual Report of Delhi Commission for Protection of Child Rights for the year 2010-11 (English & Hindi Version).
- 3. **Shri Haroon Yusuf, Minister of Power** laid the copies of following papers (Englsih & Hindi Version):
- (i) Annual Report of Pragati Power Corporation Limited for the year 2011-12.
- (ii) Annual Report of Delhi Electricity Regulatory Commission for the year 2010-11.
- (iii)11<sup>th</sup> Annual Report of Indraprashtha Power Generation Company Limited for the year 2011-12.

Replies to starred questions No. 61 to 80 and un-starred questions No. 198 to 229 were placed on the table.

#### 6. 3.33 PM Presentation of Economic Survey (2012-13):

Smt. Sheila Dikshit, Hon'ble Chief Minister laid the copy of the Economic Survey of Delhi pertaining to the year 2012-13.

#### 7. 3.34 PM Motion of Thanks on Lt. Governor's Address:

Discussion on the following Motion of Thanks moved on 13th March, 2013 by Dr. Narender Nath and seconded by Sh. Naseeb Singh:

"That this House expresses its gratitude to Hon'ble Lt. Governor for his address delivered to the Assembly on 13th March, 2013."

The Chair ruled that names of the following Members be included in the proceedings due to time constraint:

- 1. Shri Jai Kishan
- 2. Shri Sahab Singh Chauhan
- 3. Shri Mala Ram Gangwal

7. Shri Sumesh Shokeen 8. Shri Subhash Sachdeva 9. Shri Devender Yadav 10. Shri Ravinder Nath Bansal 11. Shri Nand Kishore 12. Shri Naresh Gaur 13. Shri Arvinder Singh 14. Shri Jaswant Rana 15. Shri Anil Jha 16. Shri Sat Prakash Rana 8. 3.35 PM Motion of Thanks on Lt. Governor's Address: Chief Minister replied to the debate. 9. 3.43 PM The Chair named Shri Sat Prakash Rana, Hon'ble Member for his indecorous behaviour. 10. 3.44 PM Motion of Thanks on Lt. Governor's Address Contd... The Motion was put to vote and adopted by voice-vote. 11. 3.47 PM The Chair adjourned the proceedings of the House for 15 Minutes. 12. 4.16 PM House reassembled. Hon'ble Speaker in Chair. 13. 4.17 PM Members of Ruling Party and Opposition stood up on their seats as the Commissioner of Police was not present in the Officers' Gallery. Exchange of arguments between both sides. Members of Bhartiya Janta Party raised slogans against the Government. The Chair stated that the sentiments of the House have been conveyed to the Commissioner of Police. Although Joint Commissioner of Police and other Senior Officers are present in the Officers' Gallery but discussion would not be initiated unless the Commissioner of Police arrives. 14. 4.26 PM The Chair adjourned the proceedings of the House upto 5.00 PM 15. 5.00 PM House reassembled. Hon'ble Speaker in Chair. 16. 5.01 PM The discussion on the security of MLAs in Delhi initiated in the presence of Commissioner of Police.

4. Shri Kulwant Rana

5. Shri Veer Singh Dhingan6. Shri Mohan Singh Bisht

Following Members participated in the discussion:

- 1. Shri Anil Bhardwaj
- 2. Shri Sahab Singh Chauhan
- 3. Shri Mukesh Sharma

#### 17. 5.55 PM Shri Mukesh Sharma moved the following Motion:

This House resolves that security be provided to all the Ministers of Delhi Government and MLAs of Delhi Legislative Assembly.

This House also resolves that the expenditure on security would be borne by the Delhi Government.

- 18. 5.56 PM
- 4. Shri Shoaib Iqbal
- 5. Shri Surender Kumar
- 6. Shri Kulwant Rana
- 7. Shri Ram Singh Netaji
- 8. Shri Bharat Singh
- 9. Shri Anil Kumar
- 10. Shri Shyam Lal Garg

The Chair stated that following wanted to take part in the discussion but these could not be allowed due to constraint of time:

- 1. Shri Naresh Gaur
- 2. Shri Anil Jha
- 3. Shri Subash Sachdeva
- 4. Shri Manoj Shokeen
- 5. Shri Sunil Vaidya
- 6. Shri Veer Singh Dhingan
- 7. Shri Malaram Gangwal
- 8. Shri Hari Shanker Gupta
- 9. Shri Naseeb Singh
- 10. Shri Sumesh Shokeen
- 11. Shri Prahlad Singh Sawhney
- 12. Shri Nand Kishore Garg
- 19. 7.00 PM Chief Minister replied to the discussion.
- 20. 7.15 PM The Chair adjourned the proceedings of the House upto 2.00 PM on Wednesday, 20th March, 2013.

Delhi 19<sup>th</sup> March, 2013 P.N.Mishra Secretary