DELHI LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY Bulletin Part-I (Brief summary of proceedings)

Tuesday, 4th September, 2012/ Bhadrapada 13, 1934 (Saka)

No. 81

2.00 PM Dr. Yoganand Shastri, Hon'ble Speaker in Chair

NATIONAL SONG-VANDE MATARAM

- 1. 2.03 PM **Obituary References:** The House made obituary references to Ch. Mukhtyar Singh, Ex- Member of Metropolitan Council (1983-90) & Shri Rajesh Khanna, Ex-Member of Parliament (1992-96) and observed two minutes silence as a mark of respect for the departed souls.
- 2. 2.17 PM Prof. Vijay Kumar Malhotra, Leader of Opposition stated that he had given a notice regarding suspension of Question Hour.

Members of Ruling Party stood up on their seats and objected. They sought to know under which rule the aforesaid notice had been submitted by the Hon'ble Leader of Opposition.

Members of Bhartiya Janata Party also stood up on their seats and waived pamphlets against the Government.

Members of Congress Party waived the copies of notice given by Prof. Vijay Kumar Malhotra.

Exchange of arguments between Members of Congress Party & BJP.

Pandemonium in the House.

- 3. 2.20 PM The Chair adjourned the House for 30 minutes due to disturbance in the proceedings.
- 4. 2.52 PM House reassembled.

Hon'ble Speaker in Chair.

5. 2. 53 PM Members of Opposition and Ruling Party again stood up on their seats and started exchanging arguments.

The Chair stated that the Assembly Secretariat has received a letter from Prof. Vijay Kumar Malhotra, Hon'ble Leader of Opposition vide which he has demanded to suspend the Question Hour and allow him to raise the issue of complaint against Smt. Sheila Dikshit, Hon'ble Chief Minister and others in the conduct of the Commonwealth Games 2010 which is held maintainable by the Court.

Hon'ble Speaker stated that the aforesaid notice has not been submitted under any prescribed Rule. Moreover, it is not such an issue for which Question Hour is required to be suspended. This matter is already under the consideration of Court and Rule-62 of 'Rules & Procedure of Conduct of Business in the Assembly' clearly stipulates that any matter which is pending before statutory authority performing any judicial or quasi-judicial function can not be accepted for discussion in the House.

Therefore, the Chair did not allow the request of Leader of Opposition.

Members of BJP and Congress Party stood up on their seats and started raising slogans.

Pandemonium in the House.

6. 3.00 PM The Chair adjourned the House for 15 minutes due to disturbance in the proceedings.

7. 3.18 PM House reassembled. Hon'ble Speaker in Chair.

8. 3.19 PM **Pandemonium in the House continued....**

The Chair drew the attention of the Members towards the rule-261 of the 'Rules of Procedure & Conduct of Business' in which it has been *inter-alia* mentioned that while the House is sitting, a Member shall not shout slogans in the House, shall not display flags, emblems or any exhibits in the House.

Hon'ble Speaker requested the Members of both Ruling and Opposition parties to observe the aforesaid Rules and maintain decorum while participating in the proceedings of the House and co-operate in smooth conduct of the House.

He further stated that the matter being raised by the BJP is already under the consideration of the Court. Hence it cannot be taken up in the House. The Chair named Shri Kulwant Rana for his indecorous behaviour.

09. 3.35 PM Congratulatory Motion under Rule-114:

Shri Mukesh Sharma moved the following motion:

This House congratulates Shri Sushil Kumar & other sportsmen for winning medals in London Olympics and also congratulates the players of Indian Cricket Team for winning under-19 Cricket World Cup under the leadership of Shri Unmukt Chand.

The Chief Minister announced grant of Rs. 25 lacs in appreciation for the players.

10. 3.45 PM Members of BJP walked out of the House.

11. 3.48 PM Shri Shyam Lal Garg also expressed his views on the congratulatory motion moved by Shri Mukesh Sharma.

12. 3.50 PM Shri Shyam Lal Garg walked out of the House.

13. 3.51 PM Shri Mukesh Sharma demanded that the signature put on the notice given by Prof. Vijay Kumar Malhotra be carefully examined. He suspected that the aforesaid signature was not genuine.

The Chair stated that the aforesaid matter will be examined.

14. 3.52 PM **Presentation of Reports:**

1. Shri Kanwar Karan Singh presented the Eleventh Report of Business Advisory Committee.

2. Shri Kanwar Karan Singh presented the Eleventh Report of Committee on Private Members Bills & Resolutions.

15. 3.54 PM **Papers laid on the Table:**

1. Smt. Sheila Dikshit, Chief Minister laid the copy of the Annual Report of DTTDC for the year 2010-11 in compliance with the Section 619 (A) of the Companies Act 1956 (English & Hindi Version).

2. Shri Rama Kant Goswami, Minister of Transport laid the copies of following papers (English & Hindi Version):

(i) Copy of Audit Report of DTC Employees Provident Fund Trust for the year 2010-11.

(ii)Copy of Annual Report of DTC for the year 2010-11.

(iii) Copy of Review of working of DTC for the year 2010-11.

- 16. 3.55 PM Shri Tarvinder Singh Marwah expressed his views on the congratulatory motion moved by Shri Mukesh Sharma.
- 17. 4.00 PM Prof. Jagdish Mukhi & Shri Sahab Singh Chauhan; Hon'ble Members of BJP came back in the House.
- 18. 4.03 PM Shri Anil Chaudhary, Shri Surinder Pal Singh, Shri Anil Bhardwaj and Shri Hari Shankar Gupta also expressed their views on the congratulatory motion moved by Shri Mukesh Sharma.
- 19. 4.10 PM House adjourned for tea break upto 4.40 PM.
- 20. 4.45 PM House reassembled.

Hon'ble Speaker in Chair.

- 21. 4.46 PM **Congratulatory Motion under Rule-114:** Shri Mukesh Sharma moved the following motion: This House congratulates Smt. Sonia Gandhi, Chairperson of UPA, Shri Kamal Nath, Hon'ble Union Minister of Urban Development & Smt. Sheila Dikshit, Chief Minister of Delhi for taking historical decision to regularize the 917 unauthorized colonies of Delhi.
- 4.49 PM Short Duration Discussion: Dr. Jagdish Mukhi initiated discussion on the situation arising out of increase in the electricity tariff by the private power distribution companies despite continuous growth in their profits, arbitrary manner of their functioning and helplessness of the Government in this regard. Following Members participated in the discussion:
 2. Shri Manoj Kumar
 3. Shri Ramesh Bidhuri
 - 4. Shri Mukesh Sharma
 - 4. Shiri Mukeshi Sharina
 - 5. Ch. Surender Kumar
- 23. 5.58 PM Minister of Power replied to the debate.
- 24. 6.15 PM House adjourned upto 2.00 P.M. on 5th September, 2012.

Delhi 4th September, 2012 P.N. Mishra Secretary