# **Bulletin Part – I** (Brief summary of proceedings) Thursday 22<sup>nd</sup> September 2005/ *31 Bhadrapada 1927* (Saka)

No. 39	2.00	Ch. Prem Singh, Hon'ble Speaker in Chair.	
	PM		-
1		<i>(VANDE MATARAM)</i> Chair congratulated Shri Hashim Abdul Halim, Hon'ble Speaker of the West Bengal Assembly on being elected as the Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.	
2	2.05	<ul> <li>Obituary References: Obituary references were made on the passing away of:</li> <li>1. Shri Sunil Dutt, Former Union Minister.</li> <li>2. Shri Darshan Kumar Bahl, former Member of the Delhi Assembly (1993-1998).</li> </ul>	
3	2.16	<b>Dr. Jagdish Mukhi</b> requested that the notice of 'No Confidence Motion' given by him should be considered first. The Chair ruled that as per Rule 251 of the Rules of Procedure the leave for moving the motion could be taken only after the Question Hour and the discussion will be taken up after the Government Business.	
4	2.20	<b>Question Hour:</b> Starred Questions 1 to 5 were asked and replied. Replies to starred questions 6-20, and unstarred questions 1-68 were placed on the Table.	
5	3.00	Chair read the message of the ACP (Delhi Police) regarding the detention and release of Dr. Harsh Vardhan at 12.30 noon.	
6	3.03	<b>Special Mention (Rule 280):</b> The Chair stated that the matters to be raised by the following Members under Rule 280 be treated as 'read':	
		<ol> <li>Shri Moti Lal Sodhi</li> <li>Shri Kulwant Rana</li> <li>Shri Bheeshm Sharma</li> <li>Smt. Tajdar Babar</li> <li>Shri Vijay Jolly</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>6. Shri Mohan Singh Bisht</li> <li>7. Shri Jai Bhagwan Aggarwal</li> <li>8. Shri OP Babber</li> <li>9. Shri Sahab Singh Chauhan</li> <li>10. Shri Surendra Kumar</li> </ol>
7	3.05	<ul> <li>Presentation of Reports:</li> <li>1. Shri Ramakant Goswami presented the Seventh Report of the Business Advisory Committee.</li> <li>2. Shri Ramakant Goswami presented the Fifth Report of the Private Members Bills and Resolutions Committee.</li> <li>3. Shri Sahab Singh Chauhan presented the Second Report of the Public Accounts Committee.</li> </ul>	
8	3.06	<ul> <li>Papers Laid on the Table:</li> <li>1. Smt. Sheila Dikshit, Chief Minister laid copies of the following documents: <ul> <li>Notification dated 3<sup>rd</sup> June 2005 regarding amendments in the list of Competent</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	

Notification dated 3<sup>rd</sup> June 2005 regarding amendments in the list of Competent Authorities under DRTI Act. (English and Hindi Version).

- Notification dated 19<sup>th</sup> May 2005 regarding appointment of Shri Gautam Kaul, IPS (Retd) as Whole Time Member of PGC, upto 25<sup>th</sup> March 2006. (English and Hindi Version).
- (iii) Notification dated 12<sup>th</sup> July, 2005 regarding appointment / extension of Dr.(Mrs.) Sudershan Pathak and Shri I.A. Siddiqui, Part Time Members of PGC for a further period of one year. (English and Hindi Version).
- (iv) Notified Ordinances No.2 to 27 of Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University duly notified vide Gazette Notification dated 10.03.2005.
- 2. Shri Haroon Yusuf, Minister of Transport laid copies of the following documents:
  - (i) Annual Accounts of Delhi Transport Corporation for the year 2003-2004. (English and Hindi Version).
  - (ii) Audit Report of Delhi Transport Corporation for the year 2003-2004. (English and Hindi Version).
  - (iii) Review and Delay Statement of Delhi Transport Corporation for the year 2003-2004.

3. Shri Rajkumar Chauhan, Minister of Development laid copies of the following documents:

- 1. Notification dated 24<sup>th</sup> March 2005 regarding nomination of the members of APMC (MNI) Azadpur. (English and Hindi Version).
- 2. Notification dated 11<sup>th</sup> April 2005 regarding nomination of Shri Surinder Kohli, as a member of DAMB, on being elected from licensed traders and commission agents. (English and Hindi Version).
- 3. Notification dated 26<sup>th</sup> April 2005 regarding notification of Kisan Haat, Chattar Pur (Andheri More) as sub-yard of APMC (MNI) Azadpur for marketing of Fruits and Vegetables. (English and Hindi Version).

9 3.08

## **LEGISLATIVE PROPOSALS**

(1) **The Delhi Water Board (Amendment Bill), 2005**: The Chief Minister introduced 'The Delhi Water Board (Amendment Bill), 2005 (Bill No. 9 of 2005) with the leave of the House.

(2) The Delhi Value Added Tax (Second Amendment Bill) 2005: The Minister of Finance introduced The Delhi Value Added Tax (Amendment Bill) 2005 (Bill No. 10 of 2005)

- 10 **3.09** No Confidence Motion: The Chair asked Dr. Jagdish Mukhi to seek the leave of the House for moving the No Confidence Motion. As more than 1/5<sup>th</sup> of the members rose in support of grant of leave, the Chair announced that the leave was granted. The following members participated in the discussion:
  - 1. Dr. Jagdish Mukhi
  - 2. Shri Rajesh Lilothia
  - 3. Dr. Harsh Vardhan
  - 4.00 House adjourned for tea break.

## 4.35 House reassembled.

#### Discussion on 'No confidence motion' continued:

Dr. Harsh Vardhan concluded his speech.

The following members also participated in the discussion:

- 4. Shri Vinay Sharma
- 5. Dr. Narender Nath

- 6. Shri Sahab Singh Chauhan
- 7. Shri Ramvir Singh Bidhuri
- 8. Prof. (Smt.) Kiran Walia
- 9. Shri Bheeshm Sharma
- 10. Shri Vijay Jolly
- 6.25 (Dr. SC Vats in Chair)
- 6.45 House adjourned due to pandemonium
- 7.00 House reassembled. (Hon'ble Speaker in Chair) Pandemonium continued
- 7.20 Shri Mukesh Sharma was asked to withdraw from the House for not heeding the Chair's direction.
- 7.24 House adjourned due to pandemonium.
- 7.50 House reassembled.

On the request of the Chief Whip, Shri Mukesh Sharma was allowed to enter.

8.02 Members of the BJP started raising slogans and refused to resume their seats.

#### The Chair named the following members and asked them to withdraw from the House:

- 1. Dr. Jagdish Mukhi
- 2. Dr. Harsh Vardhan
- 3. Shri Sahab Singh Chauhan
- 4. Shri Puran Chand Yogi
- 5. Shri Jai Bhagwan Aggarwal
- 6. Shri OP Babber
- 7. Shri Moti Lal Sodhi
- 8. Shri Mohan Singh Bisht
- 9. Shri Karan Singh Tanwar
- 10. Shri Dharam Deo Solanki

- 11. Shri Ravinder Nath Bansal
- 12. Shri SP Ratawal
- 13. Shri Sushil Choudhery
- 14. Shri Kulwant Rana
- 15. Shri Ramesh Bidhuri
- 16. Shri Vijay Jolly
- 17. Shri Mange Ram Garg
- 18. Shri A Dayanand Chandila A
- 19. Shri Subhash Sachdeva
- 8.12 The Chief Minister replied to the discussion.
- 8.33 The Motion of no confidence was put to vote and negated by voice vote.
- 8.34 The House adjourned up to 2.00 PM of 23<sup>rd</sup> September 2005

Delhi 22<sup>nd</sup> September 2005 Siddharath Rao Secretary