





## COMMONWEALTH PARLIAMENTARY ASSOCIATION

### **BULLETIN-PART I**

(Brief Record of Proceedings) Tuesday, 26 November 2019

# 11.19 AM (Ms. Fasiha Hassan, Hon'ble MP, Gauteng South Africa, in the Chair)

1. Introduction of Council of Ministers to the House by Prime Minister.

Hon'ble Prime Minister introduced the Council of Ministers to the

House.

(The Chair greeted the people of India on their 70<sup>th</sup> Constitution Day) (The Prime Minister also greeted the Hon'ble Chair on her birthday)

### 11.21 AM

### 2. Questions

Question Nos. 1 to 10 were orally answered. Supplementary Questions were asked by the Members and replied to by Ministers.

### 12.03 PM

### 3. Special Mention

Hon'ble Member Mr. Tyrell B. Giles raised a matter regarding impact of climate change.

#### 12.43 PM

# 4. DISCUSSION ON MOTION OF THANKS ON THE PRESIDENT'S ADDRESS

Hon'ble Prime Minister Mr. David Kabwe moved the Motion of Thanks to the President's Address in the following terms and initiated the discussion:

"That this House expresses its gratitude to the Hon'ble President for his address delivered to the Parliament on 25 November 2019".

The following members took part in the discussion on motion of thanks on the President's address:-

- (1) Ms. Banseka Kayembe, Hon'ble Leader of Opposition
- (2) Mr. Joseph Baker Willis

Hon'ble Prime Minister replied to the discussion on motion of thanks on the President's address.

The Motion of Thanks to the President's Address was put to the vote of the House and was adopted.

## Introduction of Government Bill (Legislative Business) 12.56 PM

The motion for introduction of the Bill '**The Climate Fund for Women Bill, 2019**' was moved by Hon'ble Minister for Environment Ms. Adriana Lopez. Motion was adopted and the Bill was introduced.

### 13.01 PM

# 3. Consideration and passing of Bill 'The Climate Fund for Women Bill, 2019'

The motion for consideration of the Bill was moved by Hon'ble Minister for Environment Ms. Adriana Lopez.

The following members took part in the debate:-

- 1. Mr. Jasper James
- 2. Ms. Adriana Thom
- 3. Ms. Banseka Kayembe
- 4. Mr. Joshua Oscar Gonzalez
- 5. Ms. Nephilian Kasuka
- 6. Mr. Keshawn Damion Taviano
- 7. Ms. Ishara Udeshani Kalu Thanthrige
- 8. Ms. Lebogang Matonyane
- 9. Ms. Elyssec Dimitriadis
- 10. Mr. Timothy Kadga

(House adjourned at 1.27 P.M for lunch)

### 02.52 PM (House reassembled)

Hon'ble Minister replied to the debate.

The motion for consideration of the Bill was adopted and clause-by-clause consideration of the Bill was taken up.

Clause 2 was adopted.

Amendment to Clause 3 was negatived.

Clause 3 was adopted.

Clause 4 as amended was adopted.

Amendments to Clause 5 were negatived.

Clause 5 was adopted.

Clause 6 was adopted.

Clause 7 as amended was adopted.

Clause 8 was adopted.

Clause 9 as amended was adopted.

Clause 10 was adopted.

Amendment to Clause 1 was moved and House divided. The result of the division is Ayes -23; Noes - 22. The Amendment was negatived.

Clause 1 was adopted.

Enacting Formula and the Long Title were also adopted.

The motion that the Bill as amended be passed was moved by Hon'ble Minister for Environment Ms. Adriana Lopez.

The motion was adopted and the Bill as amended was passed.

### 15.25 P.M.

### Resolutions -Adopted.

(i) Hon'ble Minister Urban Development moved the following Resolution:-

Resolution on Inclusive Urbanization: Adequate, Accessible, Secure and Affordable Housing': "That this House resolves to express the view to accept the Resolution on Inclusive Urbanization: Adequate, Accessible, Secure and Affordable Housing'."

Mr. Hicham, Ms. Prakamya, Ms. Mary, Mr. Aaron Santos and Mr. Sarath Prasad moved the amendments to the resolution.

The following member(s) participated in the discussion on the resolution. Mr. Jasper James.

Hon'ble Minister for Urban Development replied to the debate.

Amendments were negatived.

The Resolution was adopted.

(ii) Hon'ble Member Ms. Evangeline Maffey moved the following Resolution:-Resolution on 'Youth as key drivers of implementation of Sustainable Development Goals(SDGs) at the 10th Commonwealth Youth Parliament(CYP 10): "That this House resolves to express the view to accept Resolution on 'Youth as key drivers of implementation of Sustainable Development Goals(SDGs)'."

Ms. Rashana Jones, Mr. Timothy Kadga, Mr. Ezegiel Kuhanga, and Ms. Mele Fonua moved the amendments to the resolution.

The following member(s) participated in the discussion on the resolution.

- (1) Ms. Rhian Shillabeer
- (2) Mr.Tyrell B. Giles
- (3) Ms. Praygya Sagar
- (4) Ms. Emma Leigh Middleton
- (5) Ms. Sonam Gupta

**04.26 PM** House adjourned to give parties time to examine the amendments received on the Resolution

### 04.50 PM (House reassembled)

The following members participated in the discussion on resolution.

Hon'ble Minister for Finance intervened in the debate.

Ms. Evangeline Maffey replied to the debate.

The Amendments were adopted.

The Resolution as amended was adopted.

### 05.02 PM House adjourned till 11.00 hours on 27 November 2019.

26.11.2019 Secretary
Commonwealthland Parliament