## LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY NATIONAL CAPITAL TERRITORY OF DELHI

1 April 2016

## PRESS RELEASE

## Summary of the proceedings of the Third Session of the Sixth Legislative Assembly:

The House held five sittings during Third Second Session (Budget Session) of the Sixth Assembly. This session commenced on 22 March 2016 and was adjourned sine die on 31 March 2016.

During these five sittings the house conducted business for 17 hours and 05 minutes against scheduled 14 hours and 20 minutes.

Hon'ble Lieutenant Governor's Address: It being the first sitting of the year, the Hon'ble Lieutenant Governor addressed the House on 22 March 2016. Hon'ble Minister of Transport, Shri Gopal Rai, moved the Motion of Thanks which was adopted by the House on 29 March 2016. Ten Members participated in the debate, and the Hon'ble Chief Minister replied to the debate. The debate lasted for one hour and 30 minutes.

**Annual Budget (2015-16):** The Hon'ble Deputy Chief Minister presented the Annual Budget for the year 2015-2016 on 28 March 2016. In order to enable more Members to take part the discussion on budget, the sitting of the House on 30 March began from 11 AM instead of the usual 2 PM. The discussion on the budget lasted for four hours and 30 minutes. Seventeen members participated in the debate. The Hon'ble Chief Minister also expressed his views on the budget. The budget was passed on 30 March 2016.

**Questions:** A total of 265 notices of questions were received for this session for question hour scheduled for three days. Out of these 60 notices of starred questions and 185 notices of unstarred questions were admitted.

37 starred questions and 72 supplementary questions were asked and replied to in the House.

**Special Mention (Under Rule 280):** 63 notices for Special Mention were received for this session. 30 matters were raised in this session under rule 280. The departments have been directed to reply to the matters raised by the Hon'ble Members within 30 days.

**Calling Attention Motion (Under Rule 54):** Sh. Jitender Singh Tomar called the attention of the House towards construction of under-bridge at Rampura railway crossing. The Hon'ble Deputy Chief Minister replied to the Member.

## Motion (Under Rule 107):

On 31.3.2016 Ms. Bhawna Gaur moved the following Motion:

"In pursuance to the recommendation made by the Committee on Ethics in its second report tabled in this House on 30.3.2016, this House agrees to expel Shri Om Prakash Sharma from the Membership of the Legislative Assembly of NCT of Delhi with immediate effect."

Seven Members participated in the discussion. The Hon'ble Chief Minister and Hon'ble Deputy Chief Minister also expressed their views on the Motion.

Ms. Bhawna Gaur thereafter moved the following amended Motion:

"Keeping in view the sentiments expressed by the Members of the House and magnanimity and forgiveness displayed by Hon'ble Chief Minister:

Giving equal respect to all the Members of the House and upholding the dignity of the House;

With the hope that Shri Om Prakash Sharma will not resort to such behaviour in future:

Taking a lenient view, this House agrees to suspend Shri Om Prakash Sharma from the service of the House for the next two sessions."

The Motion was adopted by voice vote.

**Committee Reports:** The House adopted the following Reports of the House Committees:

- 1. First Report of the Questions and References Committee
- 2. Second Report of the Ethics Committee
- 3. Third Report of the Privileges Committee

**Papers laid:** The Ministers laid 13 papers (Reports/Notifications etc) on the Table of the House including the Report of the Comptroller & Auditor General of India for the year ended 31 March 2015.

**Legislation:** The House passed the following Bills during the current session:

- 1. Appropriation (No.1) Bill, 2016
- 2. Appropriation (No.2) Bill, 2016

**Election to Financial Committees:** 9 Nominations each were received for the three financial committees i.e. Committee on Government Undertakings, Public Accounts Committee and the Estimates Committee for the year 2016-2017. As these Committees have nine members each, the members who had filed the nominations were elected unopposed.

**Obituary References:** The House paid homage to the following:

- 1. Shri Mehtab Chand Jain, former Member of the Delhi Metropolitan Council (1972-77 and 1983-1990).
- 2. Shri Shri Krishan Tyagi, former Member of the Legislative Assembly of the NCT of Delhi (2008-2013)
- 3. Soldiers killed in the avalanche in Siachen.
- 4. Innocent victims of terror attack in Lahore, Pakistan on 27March 2016

\* \* \* \* \*