

Legislative Assembly National Capital Territory of Delhi

Old Secretariat, Delhi 110 054

08.08.2019

PRESS RELEASE

Subject: Petition received from Shri Saurabh Bharadwaj, Hon'ble Member seeking disqualification of Shri Anil Kumar Bajpai and Col. Devinder Sehrawat, Hon'ble Members of the Legislative Assembly of NCT of Delhi on grounds of Defection

Shri Ram Niwas Goel, Hon'ble Speaker has today decided the Petitions received from Shri Saurabh Bharadwaj, Hon'ble Member seeking disqualification of of Shri Anil Kumar Bajpai and Col. Devinder Sehrawat of the Legislative Assembly of NCT of Delhi on grounds of Defection as follows:

- 1. "That Shri Anil Kumar Bajpai, the Respondent in this case, an elected Member of the Legislative Assembly of the National Capital Territory of Delhi, elected from Gandhi Nagar, Assembly Constituency No.61 has become subject to disqualification under Paragraph 2 (1) (a) of the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution. That the disqualification of said Shri Anil Kumar Bajpai takes effect from 03rd May 2019."
- 2. "That Col. Devinder Sehrawat, the Respondent in this case, an elected Member of the Legislative Assembly of the National Capital Territory of Delhi, elected from Bijwasan, Assembly Constituency No.36 has become subject to disqualification under Paragraph 2 (1) (a) of the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution. That the disqualification of said Col. Devinder Sehrawat takes effect from 06th May 2019."

Consequently the Gandhi Nagar (AC61) and Bijwasan (AC 36) seats have fallen vacant.

C. Velmurugan Secretary 08.08.2019

Encl: Copy of the decisions dated 08.08.2019 of the Hon'ble Speaker.